DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Night in the Meadow
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 09:57:07

Good stuff at decent price. Easy to slot into a running game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night in the Meadow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

[Polish] Promień Śmierci - Nieopisane lata ’20
by Karol P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2021 06:31:50

Autor poświęcił wiele czasu na przygotowanie scenariusza - plik wykonany jest bardzo porządnie, materiały dodatkowe uderzają w historyczne nuty, stworzenie różnych wersji pdfów to ogromny plus, a sam pomysł na scenariusz jest naprawdę niezły.

Ale według mnie na tym pomyśle się kończy - mistrz gry dostaje zdecydowanie zbyt dużą swobodę w działaniu jak na gotowy scenariusz. Gracze bardzo szybko mogą się udać w docelowe miejsce rozwiązania zagadki, a mając na uwadze znikomy wpływ materiałów dodatkowych na scenariusz trudno nie wręczyć większości z nich jako pakietu notatek, które na szybko przejrzą i zapomną o ich istnieniu.

W dodatku, nie jest to przygoda do przeczytania na szybko przed sesją, bo wymaga od mistrza gry dopasowania do własnej grupy - i takiej informacji mi brakuje, o braku liniowości tej historii. Dopiero w środku scenariusza poznajemy też miejsce oraz przybliżony rok akcji. Wymyślenie nagród w postaci punktów poczytalności nie jest problematyczne, ale przyzwyczajony z innych scenariuszy także niemiło zaskoczyłem się ich brakiem.

Jeżeli ktoś szuka inspiracji do własnej przygody, którą zamierza zbudować na podstawie zasłyszanego motywu gorąco polecam Promień Śmierci. Jeżeli ktoś szuka gotowej przygody na szybkie spotkanie ze znajomymi albo jest początkującym Mistrzem Gry - musi szukać dalej.

Na stronie 22 wkardł się błąd i zamiast słuch mamy słych, ale to oczywiście nie wpływa na ocenę



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish] Promień Śmierci - Nieopisane lata ’20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Citizens of the Lunar Empire
by Diana P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 02:55:01

I liked this book enough to get it in hardback when I already had it in PDF to make sure I got all the glory of it.

It's a solid, well-built, incredibly detailed build of a single area within Glamour, the sort of place that adventurers might stay. If you've got call to be in Glamour, you're going to want it a LOT. If you don't, a lot of the work is easily convertible to other larger cities, and the plot hooks and connections between people are an education for a GM. You should still get it if you want to look at how to put together a community, or want to see a good bit of world-building. Chris Gidlow has pulled off a fabulous piece of work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citizens of the Lunar Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2021 12:47:13

This is a well-thought out scenario that leads to great paranoia among the PCs. The artwork is fantastic, the handouts are great, and the opportunities for role-playing abound. I ran it as a one-off for my regular (rotating GMs, rotating games/systems) group. It took us about 4 hours with 5 players. Afterward, all the players appreciated how different it is from other Cthulhu games. I highly recommend this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Duel at Dangerford
by Antony R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2021 14:05:02

All I can say is that it's a very good exciting scenario that enables the players to participate in a bit of Gloranthan history.

The scenariiio is written in a really clever way that creates a real sense of occasion (even adapting the opening verses of Horatius from Lord Macauly's Lays of Ancient Rome) and all delivered with real panache......

This supplement has obviously been created with real love and care and I really appreciate the fact that options and advice are given to GM's at various stages.

Bloody Good and simple to run.

What's not to Love?

Bravo!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Duel at Dangerford
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Treasures of Glorantha: V1 — Dragon Pass
by shawn b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2021 15:35:59

glorantha is a land rife with magic and this supplement is a great way to add some interesting magic items and artifacts to your 'runequest' game (and most of the items can easily be converted to other games and settings.) the entries are well written (and copy the style of the old 'plunder' supplement) and evocative and very few of them could be considered 'overpowered' (and those few could make for great bits to center an entire campaign around. some really nice art rounds out the package and, overall, well worth yr time and money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of Glorantha: V1 — Dragon Pass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
by THUBASA N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2021 08:26:05

This is an interesting scenario set in a special environment. The map is clean and easy to read, and the pre-rolled characters are attractive. A long but worthwhile scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cups of Clearwine
by Nick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2021 05:49:10

In "Cups of Clearwine," the Beer With Teeth collective details a more up-market corner of the Colymar tribal capital, fleshing out the everyday lives of the residents of Sandy Corner (or “Elisanda’s Grove,” as older and more aspirational locals still call it). Every household comes with a big box of plot-hooks, profiles inc. RQG stat-blocks for the more interesting residents, and insights into what makes these people tick and how they all get along (or not). A wonderfully-imagined community for your adventurers to visit, complete with price lists, bronze age crafting tips, and gorgeous illustrations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cups of Clearwine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Grand Grimoire of Cthulhu Mythos Magic
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 01:58:06

The Grand Grimoire is exactly the right name.

A Keeper may not literally need this book to run CoC magic well, but it makes it so much more likely, easy and fun. For Investigators its more of a list of even more things to worry about...

A compilation of 550+ spells from a 40 year back catalogue of CoC games; this really is as close to a real grimoire as you are likely to get. The spells are presented with variants, alternatives and twists already baked in - making it easy to individualise each one, just the way Cthulhu magic should be - unique, mysterious, individual, unknowable. This is not your grandfather´s spell list.

And horrific? Some of the spell features gave me actual shudders reading them, which is exactly what you want in this game. Not "oh this is an evil spell that needs a sacrafice" but "oh... that ... is a gruesome and nasty concept". Don´t give to anyone with trouble distingushing gaming fantasy from reality.

Word of warning - this is an encyclopedic volume of information, you will not absorb it all in one sitting. Far better to dip in from time to time and browse or look for something specific.

One thing that makes that a lot easier is the use of Spell categories - these list out all the spells with effects in a given field like "Making Monsters" so pick roughly what you want you villan to be interested in for example and then read through how they could accomplish it ... I defy anybody to do so without having a some ideas how they could use something from what follows in their campaign. The "Extending Life" list for example has given me long lived villans with vulnerabilities, perils of disloyal henchmen, complex preparations to interfer with, locked-room murder mysteries, vampiric red herrings, mulityear memory loss victims... in short plenty to investigate.

If pressed to find a flaw - its only that there isn´t a category for Gathering, Storing and Manipulating Magical Power ... those are included in Other Spells category. Might just not be enough spells written for that yet. And a Keeper doesn´t really need a "mechanically canon" explanation for high cost plot critical magic being cast anyway.

One thing on the wish list ... as the glyph/rune font pastes out to text ... could it be made available? Or even as a text "translation" website.

Anything else? Three very different but plausible NPC magicians to tailor into your game; a smattering of magical minions with statistics like Spectral Hunters and Hybrid Tindalosians; the normal high quality art work expected from 7e; and mystic diagram line art that would be frankly wasteful not to copy out for use in your own handouts.

In short, a wothwhile addition to any CoC bookshelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Grimoire of Cthulhu Mythos Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

LEGION
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 04:24:31

This book is great fun to read and I'm looking forward to use it in my next game. Thanks for the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Denarius the Minter
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2021 09:55:29

i found this to be very useful since my GM started using some of these cults, especially Lawbringer. Also glad that they updated the cover to color.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Denarius the Minter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Holiday Dorastor: The Temple of Heads
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 19:27:40

It blew my mind. I lost my head. This deserves an extra star. Horrifyingly funny! A module that reads as well as it plays. A showcase for the Jonstown renaissance!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Holiday Dorastor: The Temple of Heads
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cups of Clearwine
by Tom M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 15:12:50

Firstly, a declaration. I game with the authors, and indeed was responsible for introducing Runequest to at least two of them, but I was not involved in the production of this work (not even by allowing them to pinch NPCs from my game).

This is a gazeteer to a lower middle class area of the City of Clearwine (although it could easily be adapted to any other city in a similar setting). It contains listings for 24 (25 including a visitor from the lower class area) human NPCs, one trollkin, and one wolf, and a setting with 12 buildings, including a popular wine bar.

There is 1 detailed urban adventure with political overtones to challenge the non-combat heroes, and many plot hooks for further adventures. Also useful is a listing of goods available and prices which might be paid.

The main value, to my mind, is the sense of feeling for the setting, helping your immersion in the setting, even if you never use it. And I think you will!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cups of Clearwine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Secrets of Dorastor
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 10:51:54

Where your SuperWorld characters go to die. This is a womderful product that outshines the previous Gloranthan renaissance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Dorastor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Many thanks for the review, Scott, I am glad you enjoyed it. SuperWorld characters probably don't get past the Random Encounters, to be honest.
Citizens of the Lunar Empire
by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 09:33:20

Lovely work! Excellently illustrated and written, with lots of great ideas for games. The only downside is that not many people are likely to be running campaigns set in Glamour, so finding ways to use this suppliment will be tricky, although certainly characters can be transposed to other settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citizens of the Lunar Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1056 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates